China’s 144-hour visa-free policy

China’s 144-hour visa-free policy

Author:Kasey Beauty Time:2024-7-1

If you are considering starting your own cosmetics brand and plan to visit our factory, we have some exciting news for you. 

To boost tourism and the economy,  China has implemented a new 144-hour visa-free policy for citizens of 54 relatively developed countries. The policy, which came into effect earlier this year, allows travelers/business people from these nations to visit certain regions of China without obtaining a traditional visa.

The list of countries where China’s 72/144-hour transit visa-free policy applies is as follows:

Europe (40 countries) : Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Monaco, Russia, United Kingdom, Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine, Serbia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Albania, Belarus, Norway.

Americas (6 countries) : United States, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Chile.

Oceania (2 countries) : Australia, New Zealand.

Asia (6 countries) : South Korea, Japan, Singapore, Brunei, UAE, Qatar.

China's 144-hour visa-free policy


The 144-hour (6-day) visa exemption applies to travelers entering China through 28 designated ports of entry, including major international airports in cities like Beijing, Shanghai, Guangzhou, and Chengdu. Eligible visitors can take advantage of the policy to explore popular tourist hubs like the capital Beijing, commercial center Shanghai, and scenic destinations across eastern and southern China.

China’s goal with this policy is to make it easier and more convenient for tourists and business people from these nations to visit the country. By eliminating the visa application process, the hope is that more travelers will be enticed to add China to their itineraries. This could provide a boost to China’s tourism industry, which has faced challenges in recent years due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Of course, there are some limitations and requirements for taking advantage of the 144-hour visa exemption. Travelers must have a confirmed onward ticket to leave China within the 6-day period, and they are restricted to staying within the designated visa-free zones. Additionally, the policy does not apply to the autonomous regions of Hong Kong, Macau, and Taiwan.

Overall, China’s new visa-free policy represents an effort to make the country more accessible and attractive to tourists from key source markets. As the world continues to recover from the pandemic, this could be a strategic move to revitalize China’s tourism sector and welcome more international visitors in the years ahead.

If you need assistance in China, please contact Mark at the following phone number: +86 13282915312.

    Online Inqury

    Please fill out the form below. Would better Email us directly at [email protected]

    Please note: Our sales team will respond within 12 to 48 hours upon receiving your information. Please look into your “SPAM mailbox” if you do not receive our reply

    Our MOQ (Minimum Order Quantity)